2012 Annual Flats Handwashing Challenge AKA You’re Doing What? WHY?

Image

Hello All! Remember me? I’m Keila guest blogging for Babies Bottoms and More about my experiences with completing Dirty Diaper Laundry’s 2nd Annual Flats Handwashing Challenge. I am taking part in the Second Annual Flats and Handwashing Challenge hosted by Dirty Diaper Laundry. For 7 days I will be using only flat cloth diapers and handwashing them in an effort to prove that cloth diapering can be affordable and accessible to all. You can learn more about the rules and why this challenge was started by visiting the announcement post. This year there are over 450 participants from all over the world!

Last year, I was intrigued by the Flats Challenge, but didn’t feel confident enough as a cloth diapering momma to a young infant to complete the challenge. I wasn’t even entirely sure of what a flat diaper was. Boy have things changed in a year! Last year, I used prefolds and covers and pocket diapers. These days, my stash consists of largely prefolds, flats and Bum Genius Elementals. The flats are a recent addition to the stash in order for me to complete the challenge this week. I’ve learned that I do not have the willpower to fight repelling issues with synthetic fibers so we stick to natural fibers including hemp, cotton and bamboo.

So why did I volunteer to handwash diapers for seven days? First, I remembered my desire from last year and had considered participating this year after the first challenge was completed. Secondly, the week that Kim Rosas announced the challenge, was the same week that the DFW Metroplex was hit by tornadoes. Seeing the affected areas on the news coverage made me wonder what I would do if we were affected by natural disaster. I do not like disposable diapers. I do not consider the use of disposables as a valid option for our family. I want to know that I can diaper my daughter without sacrificing my strong convictions regarding diapering.

Today, has been easy. Of course, I haven’t washed my first batch of diapers yet…

Image

Boiling a Hemp Babies flat diaper late on Sunday night so it can be used during the challenge. 

ImageFirst diaper of the challenge.  Norah is sporting a flour sack towel using a diaper bag fold held by a snappi. 

One thought on “2012 Annual Flats Handwashing Challenge AKA You’re Doing What? WHY?

Leave a Reply

