Day 5 DDL’s Flats Handwashing Challenge – What I’ve Learned

As a reminder, I am participating in the Flats Handwashing Challenge hosted by Dirty Diaper Laundry.  For 7 days, I have agreed to give up the conveniences of modern cloth diapers, washing machine and dryer to use flat diapers (large squares of absorbent fabric) and covers.  The good news is that I’m not the only one crazy enough to do this!  There are over 450 participants throughout the world!

Today was day 5 of the Flats Handwashing Challenge.  I’m excited that the end of the challenge is within reach.  Here are some things I’ve learned so far:

1. I love the smell of line dried diapers!
2. I greatly prefer the bleached white flour sack towels in appearance over the natural colored unbleached flats.  This is odd to me since I tend to gravitate to he creamy colored unbleached diapers such as Bum Genius Elementals and unbleached prefolds.  There is something to be admired in a crisp, perfectly white flat.
3. My little drying rack does not hold well against a breeze.  It has toppled over every day this week.  I must find a more suitable drying solution.
4. Washing diapers when the house is quiet is cathartic.  It took four rinses for those pesky bubbles to go away.  It was actually rather nice to be alone with my thoughts while washing diapers.  This happens so rarely as Norah usually doesn’t sleep well without me by her side and I have three active dogs to contend with when the baby is asleep.
5. Too much detergent is too much of a good thing.  I’ve learned to scale back when handwashing.
6.  Hand washing anything every day will make me a stronger woman…literally. My arms aren’t so sore today as they were earlier in the week.
7. I am a cloth diaper advocate.  I would have never defined myself in such terms before the challenge, but I realized that  I love sharing what I know and the challenge has provided me with more opportunities to share.
8. Rolling PUL covers in a towel and stepping on it to release the moisture in the diaper works much better than hand wringing them. I didn’t know the covers were going to be so hard to dry!
9. Folding and fastening flats is not as intimidating as I had imagined.
10. Flats are extremely versatile and budget friendly.

I’m excited to see what the next couple of days bring.  My husband will be watching our daughter for a few hours tomorrow so I can work at the store so I’ve prepared his stash for the day (pictured above).  I’ve included a flannel receiving blanket, flour sack towel, Osocozy flat, Hemp Babies flat, one Snappi, Rumparooz Eco Owl Cover (purple), and Thirsties Duo size 2 Owl cover (white).

Leave a Reply

