Day 6 – DDL’s Flats Handwashing Challenge – Reasons to love flats

As a reminder, I am participating in the Flats Handwashing Challenge hosted by Dirty Diaper Laundry.  For 7 days, I have agreed to give up the conveniences of modern cloth diapers, washing machine and dryer to use flat diapers (large squares of absorbent fabric) and covers.  The good news is that I’m not the only one crazy enough to do this!  There are over 450 participants throughout the world!

Today was a non-stop kind of day for my family. I started the day by finding a lost Snappi which always makes me excited since I tend to lose them easily and find myself having to run to the store to chat with Elisa and pick up more Snappis. I worked at the store today with Elisa and was excited to share my newfound love of flats with the customers. It was energizing to be able to share something new about an old-fashioned style diaper.

Before signing up for the challenge, I was very intimidated by flats much in the same way I was with prefolds.  I learned to love the prefolds and in turn, learned to prefer diapers with natural fibers over those with synthetics.  I had a long journey with microfiber and pockets with suede cloth or fleece liners.  No matter what I did or didn’t do, they would repel after a few months, sometimes in as little as two, and I would have to go through the agonizing and arduous task of stripping my stash.  One time, I bought disposables to see me through, one time I outsourced the stripping and rented prefolds, the others, I just used the prefolds we had.  I may have cried a time or two when I would wash, and rinse for what seemed like an entire day, for he diapers to still repel at the end of that stripping session.  Believe me, I have done it all.  And I gave up.  It was not an easy decision to change my healthy diaper stash that could feasibly get me through three full days of not doing laundry, but it had to be done.  I just couldn’t battle the issues with synthetic materials.

As I’ve stated before, we use Bum Genius Elementalsunbleached premium edged prefolds, fitteds and both wool and PUL covers.  I love the stash we have now.  It is a basic stash, unlike my first stash which consisted of several different brands and styles of diapers.  In case you’re wondering, I donated part of my stash to the DFW Cloth Diaper Project and gave some to a friend with a newborn.  I simply lack the motivation to find buyers for diapers, so I give them away.  Keep in mind that I work at a cloth diaper store.

I purchased a package of 6 Osocozy flats and a couple Hemp Babies flats a couple of weeks before the challenge so I could get used to them.  I had the understanding that flats were going to be bulky because they had to be folded and that the folds were going to be hard to do with a squirmy toddler, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that I was wrong on both counts.  Flats are by far a trimmer choice than prefolds and I didn’t find them any harder to fold than prefolds.  I love that they are so economical.  Flats are easy to come by, even if you don’t shop at a cloth diaper store.  You can repurpose old t-shirts or use flour sack towels as flats.  I love that you can also repurpose flats easily after their time has run their course in your stash or your child has potty trained.

I appreciate the simplicity and breathability of the flats.  I love that my friends on facebook who are older than me are commenting on how they used them with their children.  I feel it bridges the gap and we have something else in common.

Overall, flats are giving me warm fuzzy feelings.  I know, it sounds silly, but I seriously enjoyed the conversations using flats and participating in this challenge has opened recently.

Tomorrow concludes the challenge.  I’m excited to have finished something as I am the queen of unfinished projects.  I didn’t do laundry today, so tomorrow morning holds quite a challenge.  Luckily, my husband has agreed to help me with the wash.  I realize that it’s technically Sunday, but I don’t considerate it Sunday because I have yet to go to bed.

-Keila

Leave a Reply

