August Giveaway

Congratulations to Megan K who won our July giveaway!  Megan, you can come pick up your prize any Tuesday 10-2 or Saturday 11-3. 

 

Our August giveaway was selected specifically for this month.  Mosquitoes are bad this time of year and it’s important to wear protective clothing or bug spray and to try to avoid being outside near standing water and at dawn and dusk.  When we were kids, mosquito protection was more for comfort than anything else – I remember the near-nightly ritual of dotting all our bites with calamine lotion to stop the itching.  But with the arrival of West Nile Virus, protecting your kids from mosquito bites is now a health concern as well.  But also of concern is what is IN the bug spray you are putting all over your child, especially little ones that still put everything in their mouths. 

Image

 

We are giving a way a bottle of CJ’s Bug Banisher (retail 14.95) See what CJ’s has to say about this great product: “We use a combination of witchhazel, citronella, peppermint, neem, lavender and tea tree essential oils among other natural ingredients to keep those bugs away. Our testers found this formula to be very effective, even in the buggiest of climates at dusk! Try it for yourself…and say goodbye to yet another ‘mainstream’ chemical-laden product!”

 

I can tell you this, it really doesn’t smell bad.  (Ask me how I know, go on, ask.  Well okay, I’ll tell you.)  I know this because we left a bottle out on the kitchen counter and while my parents were watching our kids, the 8 year old (or the 6 year old, they’re not telling) sprayed it all over.  When we came back we kept wondering what that smell was, because it smelled like my mom had cleaned the kitchen top to bottom using essential oils.  Now, my mom has been known to sneak in some stealth cleaning while visiting, but she doesn’t know where we keep our essential oils so we were really confused.  Finally we saw the half empty bottle of CJ’s Bug Banisher and got a confession from the kids.  So yeah, not yucky smelling. 

Image

We’re also including two PlanetWise snack bags/sandwich bags. (Retail 7.99 each) These reusable bags are made of food-safe materials and cute prints.  They velcro closed to keep food fresh.  We have switched to all reusable materials for packing our kids lunches and just like cloth diapers, we appreciate both the cost savings and the good feeling we get from not throwing away a bunch of trash every single day. 

 

Three ways to enter:

1. Enter in-store.  You can get one entry every time you visit!

2. Enter online.  Add “Monthly Giveaway” to every order this month (it’s 1 cent, couldn’t figure out how to make it free.)

3. Enter on the blog.  Comment and tell us who introduced you to cloth diapering.  How did you first find out about it?  (And if it was a friend who introduced you, why not return the favor and introduce them to our blog?)

12 thoughts on “August Giveaway

  1. tracy taylor says:

    I was introduced to cloth by Elisa at a childbirth class at centennial medical center of frisco. She brought a few different kids of dipes to show us and once she got to the AI2 my husband and I were sold. I’m so glad she was there and helped us every step of the way. Little did I know I was cloth diapered as a baby using the old school pre folds. 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    Actually, one of the employees from BBB introduced me to cloth diapering without knowing it! She was explaining the basics to another customer while I waited to ask her a question about baby carriers…then I couldn’t get the idea of cloth diapering out of my head and voila…now we’re a CD family! 🙂

    • That is so funny! I always wonder whether the parents who come in for a carrier or nursing bra will end up going home and researching cloth diapering. The diapers are definitely the most eye catching thing in the store.

  3. Amanda says:

    I was told about cloth diapers from someone at BBB. I too was there for a carrier for my premie daughter and saw all the amazing diapers. We started cloth diapering shortly after that.

  4. Candyce Rembert says:

    Hey I am Candyce And my dad actually introduced me to cloth diapers. He first told me to do a diaper service which I did for about 3 months. While I was doing the diaper service I read online and found out so much information about cloth diapers I ended up cancelling my diaper service and making my own diapers! I made (OS) AIO’s, AI2 and Pockets. I have bought a few to compare and to add variety to my stash but over 95% of the diapers I use are handmade by me! My daughter is almost 8 months and I would never think about putting her or any of my future children in anything but cloth!!

    • Hi Candyce, I recognize your name from you visiting our store earlier today! Glad to meet you. I started out making all my cloth diapers as well, I had an Etsy store where I sold them. It was always so much fun to pick out new colors and patterns to make into diapers.

  5. Our friends, Jason and Candis, introduced us to cloth diapering. We can’t imagine life any other way! Thanks for offering up the mosquito stuff- with West Nile everywhere, I want to keep my outside-loving kiddo safe without chemicals!

  6. Maria Ivey says:

    We didn’t have anyone introduce us cloth, but I am sure grateful for the mamas in the DFW Cloth Diaper group and local retailers for answering all my questions at the beginning.

  7. angela w. says:

    no one really introduced us to cloth diapering (it was just what we both thought was the best route for us) but i know i got tons of info and tips off the green mountain diapers website.

  8. Krista Todd says:

    I was familiar with cloth diapering but recently it was my friend Angela who really got me motivated to give it a try!

Leave a Reply

